Better to Face the Music

What You Don’t Know May Hurt Someone Else’s Ears

Lotte Lehmann became a famous opera singer just before WWI and performed a total of 93 roles in her career.  She retired from the opera in 1951 and became a music teacher for over twenty years.

One day she was visiting with an up-and-coming young soprano who remarked sympathetically that “It must be terrible for a great singer like you to realize you’ve lost your voice.”

“Not at all,” the older lady replied. “It would be terrible indeed if I didn’t realize it.”

To everything there is a season… including a time to quit – before you become an affliction rather than a delight to your audience.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What Don’t I Know?

I have been informed by a friend that there’s some kind of ad on one of my blogs.  I didn’t put it there and haven’t seen it. If you have, and it’s offensive, please let me know for how long it has been showing and I’ll do my best to get rid of it.

If, in the course of tracking down this problem, I delete your subscription, please wait a day or so and re-subscribe.

Some people have said that WordPress puts ads on their blogs; if they do and enough people complain, surely they will stop? Or maybe some tech-smart hackers sabotage sites & blogs.  (It’s a shame that people blessed with such brilliant minds sometimes totally waste them in pure foolishness.)

This makes me think of the parable Jesus told in Matthew 13: 24-30:

Another parable put he forth unto them, saying, The kingdom of heaven is likened unto a man which sowed good seed in his field: But while men slept, his enemy came and sowed tares among the wheat, and went his way.

But when the blade was sprung up, and brought forth fruit, then appeared the tares also. So the servants of the householder came and said unto him, Sir, didst not thou sow good seed in thy field? from whence then hath it tares? He said unto them, An enemy hath done this.

The servants said unto him, Wilt thou then that we go and gather them up? But he said, Nay; lest while ye gather up the tares, ye root up also the wheat with them. Let both grow together until the harvest: and in the time of harvest I will say to the reapers, Gather ye together first the tares, and bind them in bundles to burn them: but gather the wheat into my barn.

God allows people to make choices as to what they will do with their lives, either planting and harvesting crops to feed their fellow man or using their energy to sneak around at night seeding weeds.  Doing good or ruining things.

God doesn’t strike people dead for making wrong choices or we’d all be gone; all of us, in times of anger or foolishness, have sown weeds that yielded bad fruit.  But He tells us there will be a reaping — and a separation.

One thought on “Better to Face the Music

  1. I put this type of notice on my blog, as well. I use an Adblocker, so never see anyone’s graphich ads. I’ve heard of some Christians paying to remove ads before something happens, but I haven’t done that yet. It is kind of funny though when someone told me Ihad an ad- it was for Dove soap. : )

    I appreciate your thoughts about the wheat and tares. That is very true God could strike us dead.

Leave a Reply

