Topography; Accuracy of Scientific Data

“After nine days I let the horse run free, ’cause the desert had turned to sea…” A Horse With No Name by Dewey Bunnell

When the sea pours down on the desert, the desert does turn to a sea.  Come visit us if you’d like to witness this phenomenon.  I should be able to make something poetic from this situation – maybe next month when the sun shines again.

Actually the sun did shine on Saturday; it beamed down on us all through our ‘Last Day of School’ picnic.  We were all quite thankful for a rain-free play day – and red as beets afterwards.  That night we got another 7/10 of an inch.  Yesterday and today it only showered for a small part of the day.  Rain (or 60% chance of) in the forecast for Sunday to Tuesday.  (I see other places have had destructive flooding, so I’d best not grumble.)

When the desert turns to a sea the topography of the land definitely changes.  Two large ponds have sprung up in the canola field beside us and I can look out my door now to watch the ducks swim.  Likewise across the road from us the crop has turned to bull rushes at the NW corner of the field.  Out for a drive, we see water lying between the crop rows and for sure in every tractor tire depression.

There’s a gravel road half a mile east of us, a T running north from the E-W road we live on; this is the road we usually take to church.  At this end is a low spot that often gets muddy in wet weather.  By Friday a little puddle was covering the east half of this low spot and ducks were blithely swimming in it.  (Their policy seems to be: “If a pond is on the road, it’s ours” –and they won’t move unless they think you’re about to run over them.)

Sunday morning this puddle was bigger and a small stream was flowing across to the pond on the west side.  We noticed today that the two ponds are almost one.  And of course by now the slough west of us has crept up into the road on the south side, plus there’s a big puddle filling the tire groove on that side – which means water on half the road for a short way.  We saw a coot this morning bathing in that road-now-slough and it didn’t even move as we drove by.

Saturday there was water in the school basement, Sunday in the church basement, too.  Our son-in-law is getting calls quite often to come and put in trenches or sand points (mini-wells) around people’s houses to drain the water away.  Early Saturday morning he and his helpers dug eleven sand points around the school, then pumped water out of them to stop it from seeping into the basement.

R.I.P. Global Warming

When I was a girl in school we heard different times that scientists were studying weather data and predicting a coming ice age.  After I was married we heard so much about global warming and how dry areas like ours would become a desert.  About eight years ago or so it was really dry here in Sask; environmentalists were nodding their heads and saying, “Told you so. The prairies will be a desert before long.”

Hmm…  It hasn’t been very hot or dry for long during these past few years; right now our night lows are running about 10 C/50 F.  Which goes to show that the data scientists use for predicting the future is reliable until weather patterns change.  I suppose global warming will be shelved until the cycle changes again.  I wouldn’t be surprised it they dig out and dust off the ice age theory.

This reminds me of a little chuckle I read years back:
“If computers had been invented back in the 1800′s they wold have predicted that by 1960 there would be so much horse manure on the planet that it would be impossible for humans to survive.”

Other Birdwatching Delights:

I got a long look at a snipe Saturday afternoon as it sat on a fence post when I was driving by; later I saw two little ones on the road west of here.  Got a good sighting of a willet in the bull rushes across the road, too.

I received a very nice cheque in the mail yesterday from the Gardener for the Prairies as a Thank-you for that article I sent them about the Swallows nesting in our exhaust fan.  They also sent me two copies of the June 2012 issue so I could share the article with family or friends.  Very generous!  (What else can I write for them? ☺)

With my little windfall I went out and bought a mountain ash tree this morning.  Mountain ash are great trees for folks like me who enjoy birdwatching, for there are several species that love those bright red berries.  I want to put it in our front yard so I can watch the cedar waxwings feasting on them come winter.

Things I don’t really care to see in my yard:

I dug up a spot and planted some petunias in the garden Saturday.  Monday morning I noticed  dainty cloven hoof prints sunk deep into my new flowerbed and running right across the garden.  Thankfully they didn’t step on any plants, though one hoof landed right next to a tomato plant.  If I’d grown anything the deer would have enjoyed, I’m sure they’d have cleaned it out during their visit.

Now On to the Next Topic:

Perhaps this is enough for now about local weather and wildlife.  I want to start posting my articles about The Nature of an Army.  This won’t be one long exposition but rather a collage of thoughts and experiences dealing with various angles of an army – with emphasis on being a faithful soldier for Christ.  Hope you’ll find them interesting and encouraging.

About Christine Goodnough

Looking at life from a Christian perspective and sharing inspirations in prose & poetry. Unless otherwise stated, I've written everything you see on this blog or have retold an account in my owns words. Please respect my rights as author and do not copy posts without asking me.
This entry was posted in Animals/Pets, Diary, Humor, Nature, Writing joys & woes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

