Older…Maybe Even Wiser?

I’ve posted this on my website: christinegoodnough.ca — now I’ll post it here for those who haven’t read it yet.

For a few years I worked in a doughnut shop, mostly with young people in their teens & early twenties.  One  of these was very much on the opposite end of the “scene” from me: he was a drummer in a rock band and claimed to be a devil worshiper, while I was a very conservative Christian in my late forties.  The vibes were not good!

Being older and a lot wiser than when I was a teen, I couldn’t help trying to pass on the odd bit of “wisdom of the ages” about what works and what doesn’t in the issues of life.  One day this particular young fellow made a cynical comment about me always being so full of wise thoughts.  “What wise thing do you have to say today?” he asked in a mocking tone.

I thought a minute, then told him something that I have noticed time and again: “The more piercings, the more tattoos, the weirder the hairdo somebody has, the more insecure they are.”

He contemplated this for a minute.  I was surprised when he actually admitted, “You’re right.”

So we old fogies do sometimes have relevant thoughts for today’s youth!

One thought on “Older…Maybe Even Wiser?

Leave a Reply

