Overcoming Fear

We had a Sunday School lesson one time on the subject of Fear.  As we were discussing this lesson and I was considering various angles of the topic, a completely new thought popped into my mind: “Fear is self-centredness.”

Another gem falling from heaven!

I pondered this thought and soon realized how true it has been in my life.  I’ve never had much self-confidence, have always been quite fearful by nature.  I’d assumed this is just the way I am; some people do worry and start quaking sooner than others.  But this sentence helped me to look at fearfulness in a new light.

When I look in myself for the strength to tackle some difficult thing, I often come up short.  Then I fear.  How can I do this alone?  How will it ever get done?  When I look to myself to solve problems that arise, I soon admit that within myself I don’t have the wisdom to deal with them.  Then I fear.  What if I try and things go very wrong?  What if I make bad choices?  Soon I’m panicked and paralyzed.

Some people seem to have a lot of confidence in themselves.  They give the impression that they can manage quite well; they’re capable of handling life’s problems and overcoming any obstacles in their paths.  Some of us lack this kind of confidence and rather opt for fear and trembling each time a new situation comes along.  But either way, it’s looking to SELF.

I have always believed that when we look to the Lord we do not need to fear; in any major trial His power and ability will come through on our behalf and we will be safe.  However, I could see that I’d not been putting my FAITH into PRACTICE in the small tests of life.  I thought God would look after the big stuff, but He’s leaving me to take care of the small stuff.  I never thought of pestering Him for help in every little difficulty I face.

That day I resolved to stop letting the dark spirit of fear overwhelm me.  Rather I was going to try looking in confidence to the Lord when new and unusual situations or problems came up. I wanted to have this perfect love that would trust Him completely and cast out my fears. (II John 4:18)

My resolve was put to the test some months later when I needed to climb up a ladder to the upstairs window.  Normally I never go higher than what the fourth rung on a step ladder will get me; tall ladders have me quaking, envisioning falls, broken bones, cracked skull, etc.  This time I looked up the long ladder and said to myself, “Fear is self-centred. I’m looking to the Lord.”  Then up I went without a tremor; my fear was gone.  It really works!

I’ve found it to be true in many areas: focusing on the Lord does cast out fear.  Since that time I have faced some real challenges and had some very hard things to do at times, but as I have looked to Him for help I have been able to do things I never could do before‒without that paralyzing fear.

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.  Therefore will not we fear…” See Psalm 46:1-2

Isaiah 43: 1-2  But now thus saith the LORD that created thee, O Jacob, and he that formed thee, O Israel, Fear not: for I have redeemed thee, I have called thee by thy name; thou art mine.
When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee.

(Reblogged from my website: christinegoodnough.ca)

Leave a Reply

