The Devil Laughs

The Nature of an Army, Part 6:  Enemy Tactics

A Church brother told us how he and his wife had been involved in a dispute one day and had gone to bed still annoyed with each other.  There was no communication as they got into bed; he lay on his side; she on hers, backs to each other.  Sleep didn’t come.

Suddenly in the silence they heard the most frightening, diabolical laugh.  They were so shocked; they both jumped out of bed and were on their knees in no time, praying.  Whatever the cause of their dispute, it looked so worthless when they understood what a victory it gave to the forces of evil.

They believe God allowed them to hear it for themselves, just as He hears the devil’s cruel laughter when Christians are angry with each other.  Don’t you think the devils shout for victory when a Christian blows a fuse and tells someone off, or tears a brother or sister down through envious criticism and reputation-destroying rumours?  And how must that grieve our Heavenly Father?

“Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: Whom resist steadfast in the faith, knowing that the same afflictions are accomplished in your brethren that are in the world.”  I Peter 5:8-9

The devil loves starting family feuds.  “Let’s you and him fight,” is his theme song.  And how many conflicts hasn’t he started with just a speck of jealousy or hurt pride?

If he can find a knife to twist in our insides, it delights him.  But he conceals his weapon so well and uses it so cleverly we don’t see his hand behind it; we only feel a stab of something.  It’s anger.  It’s pain.  It’s righteous indignation.  It’s whatever.  And it’s directed toward someone else, but we end up with it in the middle of us somehow.

“But if ye have bitter envying and strife in your hearts, glory not, and lie not against the truth.  This wisdom descendeth not from above, but is earthly, sensual, devilish.  For where envying and strife is, there is confusion and every evil work.  But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, and easy to be entreated, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality, and without hypocrisy.  And the fruit of righteousness is sown in peace of them that make peace.”  James 3: 14-18

I remember an incident when a Christian sister said something to me that sent a searing pain through my heart.  My first reaction was anger, but God came to my rescue with a Bible verse, “In everything give thanks, for this is the will of God concerning you.” I Thess 5:18

It came like a splash of cold water in the face, but I took a deep breath and looked toward heaven. “Thank you Lord, that this happened.”

A gleam of revelation hit me right then, and I started again.  “Thank you for allowing me to hear that and to feel this pain.  Let me learn a lesson from this.  You know how many times I have thoughtlessly blurted things to other people that hurt them just as bad.  Now I know how it feels to be on the receiving end.”

I try to remember now, when I’m tempted to cast a stone at someone else for what they’ve said or done:  quite a few should be coming my way, too.  It does a lot to dissipate resentment when you realize you are guilty of the very same thing.

And when our enemy sees peace restored, especially accompanied by the illuminating light of God, he stops laughing and slinks away.

5 thoughts on “The Devil Laughs

  1. Thanks Christine – I’ve thought of how big a kick Satan must get from me falling for some of his setups! (In fact it’s been on my list of topics to write about sometime!)

    Like

  2. Thank You for the morning whipping. Sometimes we need those little reminders to not let those little things hinder our walk with Him. I’d like to re-blog this so those around me can also benefit from your wisdom.

    Like

Leave a Reply

