How Fast the Years Go By!

✿ HAPPY ANNIVERSARY TO US !✿
      Aug 1, 1970-Aug 1, 2012
               AWESOME!

To my husband on our 42nd Anniversary:

SELFISH
by Edgar Guest

I am selfish in my wishing every sort of joy for you;
I am selfish when I tell you that I’m wishing skies of blue
bending o’er you every minute – and a pocketful of gold–
and as much of love and gladness as a human heart can hold
‘Cause I know beyond all question that if such a thing could be
as you cornering life’s riches, you would share them all with me.

I am selfish in my wishing every sorrow from your way,
with no troubled thoughts to fret you at the closing of the day;
and it’s selfishness that bids me wish you comforts by the score,
and all the joys you long for–and on top of them, some more;
‘Cause I know, old tried and faithful, that if such a thing could be
as you cornering life’s riches, you would share them all with me.

4 thoughts on “How Fast the Years Go By!

Leave a Reply

