“Looking on the Bright Side” — 2nd Verse

  “I’M JUST BROKE”
   by Edgar Guest

Nothing’s the matter with Me!
I can see!
I can hear, I can sing, I could climb
up a tree!
I am well, I can eat anything that’s about!
I can run, I can dance,
I can laugh, I can shout
and I’m blamed if I’ll travel around here and croak
that I’m broke!

My arms are all right;
I can fight!
I can still romp around with the kiddies
at night!
I haven’t neuritis; I haven’t the ‘flu;
I still have a fairly good
foot in each shoe;
I am able to gather the point of a joke;
I’m just broke.

Nothing has happened to me
that I see!
My appetite’s good and I’m strong
as can be!
The wife hasn’t left me, the children are well.
Things are just as they were
when the stock market fell.
I can work, I can play, I can eat, I can smoke.
I’m just broke!

From the book, The Friendly Way
© 1931 by The Reilly & Lee Co.

Leave a Reply

