WHAT WENT WRONG? I Was Supposed to Be a STAR

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.  Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you.” See Jeremiah 29:11-14.

God’s Word says He thinks good thoughts toward us; if we look to Him for help He will bring our lives to happy conclusions both now and in eternity.

So why was Joseph sitting in an Egyptian prison for two years when he was supposed to be ruling the sun, moon, and stars?  Didn’t he have enough faith?  Wasn’t he praying enough?  Did he cheerfully “bloom where you’re planted” and wait patiently for that “expected end” or did he sometimes feel like he must have missed the boat?

When he was forgotten by the king’s wine-bearer for two long years, did he wonder if God had forgotten him, too?

It’s easy for us, looking back through history, to see how it all worked out, that God had the big picture planned and Joseph’s prison episode was one small scene.  But Joseph had to live through it day by day, year by year, hanging onto a dream he believed was from God.

When I’m feasting in the Royal Palace or living on Easy Street, it’s not hard to see God has my good in mind.  When joy and inspiration surround me I can feel I have a purpose to fulfill in life.  But what about when everything has gone wrong, I’m nailed for doing what I believed was right, and now I’m sitting in some prison or exiled to a far country?

When everything’s a mess and tsunamis of depression hover on my horizon, ready to pound me, can I still hang on, trusting that God means this circumstance for my good?  Do I believe that I can learn something from any situation.

“It is good that a man should both hope and quietly wait for the salvation of the LORD.”  Lamentations 3:26

Lord, deliver me from martyr pins, self-pity, self-flagellation and righteous indignation.  Show me the truth about myself so I can accept what I need to accept and change the things I need to change.  Grant that I may hold onto this quiet confidence that You are working things out for my soul’s salvation –my expected end in the mansion You have prepared.  Come what may.

4 thoughts on “WHAT WENT WRONG? I Was Supposed to Be a STAR

  1. Amen.

    I can testify it isn’t always easy to keep the faith, but this I now know – G-d has NEVER let me down, whether in good times or bad. Not once.

    Like

Leave a Reply

