A Senior Moment

These past two weeks have been rather exciting for me, as I’m finally doing the ground work for the book of poetry and parables I want to publish.  So I’ve been going through my two blogs and taking out all the items I want to include in my book, plus going through a flurry of scrap paper scribbling that has collected over the years– some to finish and some to finally abandon.  And working on a few new poems.  And praying the project will fly.☺

As secretary of the His Imprint Christian writers group, I’m also involved in spreading the word about our writers conference April 12-13.  One of the co-ordinators assured me the mail-out info would be ready today, so yesterday I spent a few hours going through past records and addressing 88 envelopes for brochure/registrations to send to past attendees.

This afternoon I picked up the brochures and posters from the printer and Bob & I stuffed and mailed them.  One job done.  As soon as I get the info in a PDF file I can e-mail it to dozens of churches in the region around us.  Since I volunteered for this job, January & February have been busy months for me, which is why I’m not doing as much posting.

I came across a writing two days ago that gave me a chuckle – especially since I forgot I had the car at church last Tuesday (Sewing Day) and almost left without it!  (I think they call this “a senior moment” and I’ve been having too many lately.)  I don’t know who wrote this, but I hope it will give you a smile:

I’M A SENIOR CITIZEN

I’m the life of the party…even when it lasts until 8 p.m.
I’m very good at opening child-proof caps with a hammer.
I’m usually interested in going home before I get to where I’m going.
I’m good on a trip for at least an hour without my aspirin, beano and antacid.
I’m the first one to find the bathroom wherever I go.
I’m awake for hours before my body allows me to get up.
I’m smiling all the time because I can’t hear a word you are saying.
I’m very good at telling stories…over and over and over and over.
I’m aware that other people’s grandchildren are not as bright as mine.
I’m so cared for: long-term care, eye care, private care, dental care….
I’m not grouchy, I just don’t like traffic, waiting, crowds, children, politicians….
I’m positive I did housework correctly before my mate retired.
I’m sure everything I can’t find is in a secure place.
I’m wrinkled, saggy and lumpy, and that’s just my left leg.
I’m having trouble remembering simple words like….
I’m now spending more time with my pillows than with my mate.
I’m realizing that aging is not for sissies.
I’m anti-everything now: anti-fat, anti-smoke, anti-noise, anti-inflammation….
I’m walking more (to the bathroom) and enjoying it less.
I’m sure they are making adults much younger these days.
I’m in the initial state of my golden years: OAP, CPP, mature RRSP…
I’m wondering…if you’re only as old as you feel, how could I be alive at 135?
I’m a walking storeroom of facts…I’ve just lost the storeroom.
I’m a Senior Citizen and I think I am having the time of my life!

4 thoughts on “A Senior Moment

  1. My Aunt just emailed me a list of senior moments, not the same as yours, are you two trying to tell me I am old? Maybe I should post her list or make one up of my own, if I don’t forget after I post this comment! What was I thinking Next? God Bless!

    Like

    • Hey, you weren’t the one who left your car at church! Here I begged a ride home with a friend and was well on the way before I remembered that I’d driven myself to church. And it almost happened a second time after the next Sewing day. That’s BAD.
      By all means, post your aunt’s list. It might make me feel better. For yourself, you could at least plead that working with electricity has shorted some of your inner circuits. 🙂

      Like

  2. Loved it Christine! My Hubby and I feel like we play ‘charades’ lots. ha ha. I just say one word or describe something and he will tell my what I was trying to tell him in the first place. Too funny. Have a great weekend. 🙂 Renee

    Like

Leave a Reply

