The Eagle, The Flu, and the FlyLady

I see I have some new blog followers and I want to welcome you; feel free to browse through this site.  You’ll see a lot of my musings and (mostly other people’s) poems.  I’ve deleted most of mine because I’m planning on self-publishing a book of poems and fiction; however, I do still post my latest ones and invite your feedback.

I was reading someone else’s post yesterday and he was explaining that ‘blog’ is short for web-log; according to this writer it’s supposed to be online journal where we write about the important events of our days.  I haven’t been doing much of that lately so I decided today to do a post about the doings that filled my week.

On Monday we went into Saskatoon and I attended the His Imprint writers group meeting.  Bob usually comes to these, too, but this day he had other errands to run.  Our Writers Conference is coming up April 12-13, so we, the planning committee, have various last-minute things to discuss.  We had posters and registration brochures printed up two weeks ago and I mailed out a bunch – but wouldn’t you know I forgot to take the remainder with me Monday for the other members to distribute.

Tuesday we went to Moose Jaw –a 2 ½ hour drive south– to attend the 89th birthday party for Bob’s cousin, Julia.  She’s a widow; two of her children and three siblings (plus spouses) were there, plus us and a couple of old friends.  These dear family members have been so much a part of our lives for decades but time moves on and takes its toll.  Julia’s family feel she’s getting too forgetful to stay alone in her apartment much longer.

I don’t remember much about Wednesday.  Oh, dear.

I recall dealing with e-mails and blogging; I tried to clean up the house; read part of a novel.  I also worked on two poems in the evening.  I have this stack of unfinished poems and the time has come for “taming the paper tiger” as one writer puts it.

Several weeks ago I signed up with “the FlyLady” and decluttering is the focus this month.  I’ve been getting lots of e-mails testifying to the relief and freedom that comes of letting go of clutter, so I’m working on it.

Yesterday I went to my daughter’s home to work on sewing projects for the girls and found them all in various stages of the ‘flu.  I cut out a pattern for the girls and later two dresses for the youngest. I worked on them some, continued this morning and want to do more this evening.  (Thankfully I didn’t get the ‘flu!)

Our son-in-law left for Haiti on Sunday morning to help with a Church-sponsored irrigation project over there and has been running a backhoe since.  If all goes as planned our daughter and the children will follow next Saturday; they will stay with family near Calgary and fly out Sunday morning via Miami.  They plan to stay about a week and all come home together.  Of course the girls need a few new clothes for their big trip.

Yesterday morning we looked out the window and saw this huge bird in a treetop not far from our trailer.  We debated and binoculared, but couldn’t decide what it was: a funny-looking raven or an eagle.  I went outside with the binoculars and got a fairly good look at it: definitely a golden eagle.

Today I wanted to work on Alyssa’s dresses, so have exercised remarkable self-discipline: I’ve stayed off the net and didn’t check my e-mails all day.  How brave is that?  Just peeked: between midnight last night and 6pm today 34 e-mails came in.  Now to read them all.

This includes 9 notes from the FlyLady; I was getting a couple every day, but for some reason they’ve switched to an all-day-long delivery, mostly testimonials about the joys of clutter-free living.  I’m not complaining, though – I need that.  I’m an “out of sight, out of mind” kind of person and this is like having your mother drop in every two hours to see if your spring cleaning project is staying on track.

I’ve concluded that the FlyLady fills the role of the mother role model a lot of us never had, and does the basic teaching we never got.  “If you want a clean house, you have to stop whining, stop blaming your family, get at it and do it.”

I grew up a latch-key kid; my Mom F, when she was home, just did the housework herself and I was left to wander at will.  I was never given any chores except to clean up my tiny bedroom.  I know both she and Dad F were dismayed that I never learned to do anything, but I had no babysitters after age eight, so basically was left to my own devices from then on.

When I was in my teens I heard Mom make a few comments to others about me never doing any work around the house, but never did she say, “Okay, now this is your job.”  And you know children: they’ll always run off to play; they’ll always grumble when they have to do something.  I was no different.  You have to persevere if you want them to learn anything that will equip them for managing a home of their own.

Once we had the café (when I was thirteen) we were all busy working there, but I was pretty clueless about a lot of housework until after I was married.  And I don’t think I’m so unique in that; I think a lot of working moms don’t have the emotional energy after work to teach and train their daughters.  So thanks be for Marla the FlyLady!

Dave Ramsay, with his Financial Peace University and radio talk shows, is doing the same kind of parental teaching in the financial line and I applaud him for it, too.  He’s helping us get back to what our great-grandparents taught our grandparents – which is why we’ve inherited such a great, once-solvent country.

2 thoughts on “The Eagle, The Flu, and the FlyLady

  1. It’s amazing what one man can actually do to straighten out people’s spending habits!
    I wish we’d heard about his programme twenty years ago.
    But we humans tend to tell ourselves, “I’m doing okay” until it all collapses and we sit in a flurry of bills we can’t pay (or broken relationships, or…) and finally we admit, “This isn’t working. I need to find a better plan.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

