On Second Thought…

When newspapers publish something and they find out later their article has been in error or led people to a wrong conclusion, they usually print a retraction. This evening I read over today’s “parable” and began to consider exactly what the point is after all.  Suddenly I looked at this story from a different angle – one I didn’t care for after all – and wondered if I should print a retraction.

I initially thought of the story as illustrating how, when people get a whiff of big money, they tend to lose a lot of common sense. As the Bible says, “For the love of money is the root of all evil: which while some coveted after, they have erred from the faith, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows.”  I Timothy 6:10

And other folks, no matter how much truth there is in something, remain chronic skeptics and miss out on the rewards of really checking things out.

However, I don’t in any way want to make light of or encourage the kind of deception the man in the story carried out, or give you the idea that I think dishonesty is funny. So, my apologies if this tale has left you with a bad aftertaste; I posted it without proper forethought.

Leave a Reply

