A Servant Girl’s Prayer

Lord of all pots and pans and things,
since I have no time to be
a saint by doing lovely things
or watching late with Thee
or dreaming in the dawn-light
or storming Heaven’s gates,
make me a saint by getting meals
and washing up the plates.

Although I must have Martha’s hands,
I have a Mary mind
and when I black the boots and shoes
Thy sandals, Lord, I find.
I think of how they trod the earth,
what time I scrub the floor;
accept this meditation, Lord,
I haven’t time for more.

Warm all the kitchen with Thy love
and light it with Thy peace;
forgive me all my worrying
and make all grumbling cease.
Thou who didst love to give men food,
in room or by the sea,
accept this service that I do…
I do it unto thee.

Written in 1928 by an unknown girl in domestic service.

Leave a Reply

