Answers to Prayer

My Sunday Morning Musings:

Apparently someone once asked George Mueller if he spent a lot of time in prayer, to which he replied that he prayed for hours every day.

“I endeavour to live in the spirit of prayer,” he added. “I pray as I walk, when I lie down, and when I rise. And the answers are always coming.  Tens of thousands of times have my prayers been answered. The great fault of the children of God is that they don’t continue in prayer…  They do not persevere.”

Considering that George Mueller successfully pastored a church of 1,200 members, housed, fed clothed, taught and evangelized 2,050 orphans annually; supported 187 missionaries; organized a society that distributed vast quantities of Bibles and tracts, and went on lecture tours in his old age, one can believe that he received all those answers to prayer. Apparently he never accepted a salary, nor mentioned financial needs to others but depended on God to supply their needs. And he never went into debt.

Oh, me of little faith!

I read about George Mueller this morning and find his life of prayer an inspiration and a reproof. God does answer prayers. It’s not about maintaining a loud enough, persistent enough wail that God will finally give in and give me what I want, as I see some children do. It’s about having the confidence to ask and the faith to leave the need in His hands. “Not my will, but Thine, O God.”

I can see that I also need to step on my fears and be part of the solution. So I’ll start my day with this prayer: Lord, deliver me from the mind-set of  “But I can’t do that!” Make me willing to rather say, “Yes, I can. At least I’ll try.”

5 thoughts on “Answers to Prayer

  1. Love the inspiration of these men and women of faith… There is much to learn. I think the beginning of it all is the willingness to allow God to change us – may you find the changes and growth you seek!

    Like

    • I’m asking myself how much richer or more productive (in God’s hands) my life could be if I gave myself to prayer the way this man did. Sometimes when I pray for changes and it seems those things (or people) just carry on as usual, it wants to make me lose heart.

      Yes, these older ones were an inspiration; the lives they lived; the challenges they faced; the prayers they offered; the self-denial and taking up the cross.

      Like

      • Persistence is hard-won, I think… At least, in my own experience! I think one day when we realize what we could have been, there will be tears to wipe away. On a happier note – I’m so glad that He knows I am dust! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

