He Calls The Stars By Name

“This is the day which the LORD hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.” Psalm 118:24

Woke up this morning to a fresh blanket of snow. We were supposed to get 6″ and it looks like we have, with more coming down as I write. The temperature is just below freezing so this damp, heavy snow is perfect for packing. Maybe I should tear up my TO DO list, abandon my adult concerns, rejoice in it and go out and build a snowman!

An agent from Friesen Press contacted me on Tuesday, ready to work with my book as soon as it’s done. The first thing was to decide on a title so I spent a couple of days mulling on that subject. Initially I tagged it with a name I’d chosen back in December as a possible blog name but now I’ve asked around and of course folks have different opinions; in our house even the differing male and female tastes gives rise to varying opinions.

So I made a long list of potential titles and thought of my poems or some Scripture verse that could go with each one. Yesterday especially I turned them all over in my head, hoping something brilliant would fall into my grey matter. Nada. But a couple of friends supported the title I’d already chosen and it’s the only one that’s ever really caught my eye & ear. I decided to go with that title, chose a subtitle to enhance it and a book cover picture to fit it all together.  PROGRESS!

So my book will be titled Silver Morning Song: Reflections on nature and Christian life. Coming to a bookstore near you – I hope! The cover will show a bird in the treetops with a leafy green and silvery morning background. What do you think? Does “Reflections on natural and spiritual life” sound better than the subtitle above?

With that preoccupation out of the way, I can turn my attention to the workshop I’m to lead at our Writers Conference on Saturday: “Journaling, Memoirs, and Blogging; Rendering an effective account.”  It was a lot easier to choose a name for that – now to come up with a presentation!

We drove up to Spiritwood, 2 1/2 hours north of us, on Sunday for morning worship service and dinner with our friends Monroe and Alice.  Bob had something to deliver to Monroe and we haven’t been up to visit them since their 50th Anniversary several years ago. (Actually the trip took us close to three hours because of slushy roads.)

During the service the Minister spoke of the greatness of God and one portion of scripture he read was Isaiah 40:18-26 and for some reason this last verse really impressed me:

“Lift up your eyes on high, and behold who hath created these things, that bringeth out their host by number: he calleth them all by names by the greatness of his might, for that he is strong in power; not one faileth.”

God is speaking of how He created the stars, that He calls all of them by name. I was really awe-struck as I pondered that before mankind existed God gave names to every star and planet we see in the heavens.

Then man came along and in his paganism has named them after his mythical gods. What an insult! In that sense, one could say in that sense even the universe has been corrupted by man’s refusal to acknowledge his Creator.

On a positive note, I picture a child out walking with his father on a starry night, the father pointing out planets, stars and constellations, telling the child the names of each one. Oh, to be able to do that with our Heavenly Father; we’d listen with respect and awe as He pointed out each one and told us the names He’s chosen for them.

Someday, in a new, uncorrupted heaven and earth, we can do just that!

“Let they mercies come also unto me, O Lord, even thy salvation, according to thy word.” Psalm 119:41

7 thoughts on “He Calls The Stars By Name

  1. OMG~ Snow still? I don’t mind a bit of snow, although I would not want to see it in April. I remember when I was a little girl and we lived in Quebec and later on in Hamilton and to wake up to snow in April was not thrilling to us anymore. The winters were too long. I really do wish Spring would arrive here in British Columbia. We had a beautiful Easter weekend and now back to the cool, rainy weather. It will arrive soon enough~
    Terrific post my friend and again thank you for your thoughts on my blog photo.
    You wrote, Does “Reflections on natural and spiritual life” sound better than the subtitle above?
    I say, “yes, it does”. I like it better.
    All the best with it all Christine, love the title.
    Have a beautiful day. Hugs, Renee 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, still lots of snow, though we could see part of our lawn until this morning. It’s still at least a metre deep across the garden. Our children still have snow hills on their yard. Monday morning (-18C) my husband was wailing, “Where’s global warming when you need it?”
      I’m always ready to give opinions on COLOURS! I like them just as much as I like words. 🙂 Thanks for your opinion on my title, too.

      Like

      • You are so welcome Christine. I am not too sure on the ‘colour’ I chose this time. I like the blue for the lettering the background seems a tad darker. What do you think?

        Like

      • Just peeked in again. I think that’s a big improvement; you could have used a deeper blue, closer to navy, but the shade you’ve chosen is pretty much the same intensity as your background pink so they balance well, in my opinion. I like this font, “stands up” more.

        Like

      • Thank you Christine. I was hoping you would take a “peek”. It was tricky getting just the right blue. I appreciated all your opinions and will leave the blue as is. The only thing I noticed that the background is not white like on the other one. It is an off white, do you think I should it as is or play around with it later and see if I can get the background a tad brighter? Now you got me started, lol. I hope you don’t mind that I will be turning to you for ideas now and again.

        Have a great Saturday and hopefully your snow will soon leave. We have sunshine today and 8 Celsius. Spring has not arrived for us either, will take this over the snow. Renee 🙂

        Like

  2. Thanks for the thoughts, Christine. God is there in the details of our life – from naming stars to numbering hairs on our head.
    May God bless your work on the book. I like the title and the subtitle.

    Like

Leave a Reply

