Summer Has Come; My Book Is Almost Done. Ahhh…

Spring came – and went – this past weekend; today the temp is supposed to soar up to 27° C – a shade over 80° F. Hello summer! (Not sure if I’m up to such a sudden change.)

At least one pair of swallows are back; we saw one, then two flittering around the yard these past few days and now they are investigating the nests we put up last year. We’ll need to get on the ball now and spring-clean those birdhouses.

For the past two weeks I’ve been slugging away at my book, polishing, sanding, smoothing. I thought it was all done, even though I’d omitted the process of reading the whole manuscript out loud. But my grandchildren were here Friday and wanted me to read some of my book to them. So I did read a couple of stories and soon realized the wisdom of that writing advice: READ THE WHOLE MANUSCRIPT OUT LOUD.

There’s a definite difference between a book that will be read silently and a book of stories that folks may read out loud. Your mind just does make compensations, both for typing mistakes and for change of speaker. A listener can’t “see” when the speaker changes. Story tellers do this by change of voice, but I see more clearly the need to note it in the text when speakers change.

I finished compiling my book on Friday and am on the home stretch now; I hope to get it off to the publisher shortly.  However, my blogging time may be scarce for awhile so I’ll reblog some of my husband’s wise writings to fill in.

2 thoughts on “Summer Has Come; My Book Is Almost Done. Ahhh…

  1. Best of luck to you on the publishing process. I understand what you’re going through right now, as I had my book of poetry published. I’ll be praying that all goes smoothly for you. Wishing you God’s blessings.

    Like

    • Thank you so much! It’s hard when you think you’re DONE — then find a number of corrections that still need to be made.
      Then in the meantime you’re hit with major doubts; you feel you’re absolutely wasting your time and nobody wants to read this. I feel like I’ve been battling uphill against a gale-force insecurity this last week!

      Like

Leave a Reply

