I Don’t Do Change Well

August is half gone — how can it be? We’ve reached the point where crickets are scurrying for cover when I upturn something and the grasshoppers are big enough to make a serious impact on the garden. We had such a cool spring they were late hatching again, otherwise they could have been huge a month ago. And several late springs, cool wet Junes have decimated the population quite much in these parts.  Other folks will grumble that the summer barely got warm, but this cooler climate is one change I do appreciate.

Changes tend to depress me. How about you — do you ever wish things could just stop now and stay the same for a year? Our third grandchild is starting school this fall, which means she won’t need Grandma to babysit her anymore; now it will only be the youngest to mind while Mom has a shopping day in the city. Growth and maturity = changes.

With school starting in a few weeks I’ve been very busy lately sewing dresses for the granddaughters, which is why my blog posts are so slow in coming this month.

Folks have been traveling and telling about the sights they’ve seen. I went through a spell of pure covetousness a week or so ago where I wanted to travel, too, and see all kinds of beautiful sights. Bob talks of how he’d like to visit the Big Muddy, an area in the Cypress Hills down in SW Saskatchewan. But for now we’re staying right here. Maybe when my book is printed we’ll need to take a trip to southern Manitoba pick up the copies.

I’ve been asking for quotes from printers with regard to my children’s book, The Rescuing Day. The manuscript is done and approved by the powers that be. Now, thanks to the generosity of a couple in our congregation who are offering to lend me the printing costs, I can move ahead with that project. I still need an illustrator, but that shouldn’t be a major hurdle.

Yesterday I got wind of serious changes afoot at my workplace. A widower who lives there is remarrying; a new bride will be coming to join our residents. Melvin’s wife Lois died three years ago on Aug 15th. Helena Banman is 66 and has been a widow for 35 years.  Changes, changes. Can you be tickled pink and blue at the same time?

Oh how I wish things would just stay as they are — but oh, how glad I am that they don’t! I’m so thankful that a long-lost penpal friend has located me again after twenty years, but so sorry to hear she’s battling breast cancer.

I’ve written about my heath issues, learning that I have leukemia. When I think of the way I feel, it definitely makes sense that there is something wrong. But the young hematologist I saw at the end of July was so reassuring; he waves all my symptoms away and says this disease is barely affecting me. He tells me I will likely never need treatment, and if I do, maybe only one pill will cure it. So basically the outlook is optimistic.

At one point he said, “If you hadn’t happened to have this blood test, we’d never know you had this.” Umm… I avoided mentioning that I went to my doctor because I realized there was something wrong. I know he wants to convince me that I have nothing to worry about and I am very thankful that this has been caught in the early stages — I certainly hope the progress is slow. (Without an established record, a number of blood tests, they have no way of knowing how fast or how slow the disease is progressing.) But I do know something is different, my stamina is much poorer than it was two years ago and I’m so hot at times.  He says “Age, loss of muscle tone. The sweats are probably just menopause.” (The fact that I’m 60 now didn’t dissuade him in the least.) I didn’t tell him I’m a writer or he likely would have suggested that as the root of all my health woes. I just said, “Time will tell,” and he agreed.

A train just rumbled by so I jumped up to go check: four locomotives with a smaller train in tow. They’ll likely need those extra locomotives to bring back all the cars they’ve left here and there on other trips. In early August the smaller grain storage terminals ship out their stored grain in preparation for the incoming harvest; there are also a number of oil & other chemical cars that travel this line.  One day we saw a train coming from the south and I counted five locomotives pulling a full load, so I patiently counted the cars as they went by. I counted 231; someone else said she’d counted 240.

Speaking of changes, some don’t happen as fast as they should. I need to update my blogroll. I’ve subscribed to a few more blogs and want to display them in case you’d like to check them out. On one post blogger Claire Bogdanos writes about going to see the Hindenburg air ship. I found her memory of that day very interesting. Here’s the link if you want to read it:
http://clairebogdanos.net/2013/07/28/dateline-hoboken-n-j-usa-hindenburg-2013/

5 thoughts on “I Don’t Do Change Well

  1. Chris, I’m sorry I haven’t been reading and commenting for a good while. Life has been very crazy. I hate hearing about the leukemia but am glad to hear that the doctor thinks it will not be a big deal. I have another friend who has the same thing. Has had it for 10 years or more and still hasn’t had to have any treatments. Will try to send you a good long email soon.

    Like

    • Hi Deb! Yes, so far the news is pretty good. As I said, it will take about a year to actually see the progression rate, but I do hope that this won’t get bad fast. However, if they could cure it with a pill and I’d be back to normal, I’d be very happy about that, too.
      (The thing that bothers me most is being so hot all the time. I thought I’d been through all that ten years ago! (My sister wasn’t any too happy, either, to hear that “menopause” can do a second round.) Time will tell.

      Like

  2. I don’t DO change well either. My World has been turned Upside Down the last 2 weeks as my landlord is trying to evict us. I’m still in shock. I have to move from the State and Community I love, and I have to give my babies/Cats away to strangers……SO..Yes, I don’t do change well…Good Post! *Author, Catherine Lyon* 🙂

    Like

    • I’m so sorry to hear all that. We’ve moved many times, lived in five provinces, some major life changes, so I have some idea what you’re feeling, especially being a pet lover. I had two cats when we decided to move from Ontario to Quebec and I really prayed the Lord would send some kind owners for them. And He provided them with good homes; one less worry on my mind.

      Like

Leave a Reply

