A Strange Man Hugged Me!

Have you ever been hugged by a complete stranger? Someone you’ve never laid eyes on before? It happened to me one day, right in public.

Well, I’ll admit I did barely lay eyes on this person a few minutes before as he hoisted himself from behind the steering wheel of his car and stood to his feet. And I sort of laid eyes on him as he passed by the window in front of me. I didn’t know him from Adam – but he wasn’t an Eve, that much I recognized.

Really my eyes weren’t focused on him at all, but were fixed on something dark that had fallen to the ground as he stood up. Something that looked suspiciously like…

Oh, dear. I’m getting ahead of myself. Let me start again.

I was sitting at a table in a small corner of a bookstore, this corner they have set up as a coffee bar. I’d finished my coffee and was idly gazing out the window beside me when I saw this grey car drive up and park facing the store right in front of where I sat.

As I said, I saw this man get out of this car and stride purposefully toward the store next door. I saw quite surprised to see something dark hit the icy asphalt when he stood up, so I got up and went out to see, in case it may be something important – like a wallet.

And so it was. A plump, folded leather wallet. I stuffed it into my pocket and hurried into the Dollar Store next door, looking for someone about his size, brownish jacket.

I scanned the aisles and saw a good match but I wasn’t certain, so I approached him and asked, “Do you drive a grey car? Did you just park next door?”

“Yes,” he replied, a puzzled note in his voice. After all, I was a complete stranger to him.

“Did you lose something?”

He gave me a blank look, then the light dawned. He slapped his back pockets. “My wallet.”

I pulled it out of my pocket and handed it to him. He moaned once and thanked me for it, then, in front of everyone in the aisle, he threw his arm around me and gave me a hug.

Me, a complete stranger, someone he’d never laid eyes on before. Can you imagine that?

11 thoughts on “A Strange Man Hugged Me!

  1. I’m sure that made your day. I love it, and well written too. You just never know how a person, a “complete stranger”, will react to a touch of love. Regardless of the outcome, God does not
    make mistakes. Trust Him.

    Like

  2. Yes I did, thank you. (I’m sure it made his day, too.) God did have His hand on this situation.
    Normally I’m far too unwilling to “get involved,” fearing negative reactions, but this time I was pretty sure he’d be happy. Thanks for commenting and the writing encouragement.

    Like

  3. When I was a kid I found some money that was dropped under the counter of a convenience store (7-11). Much to my surprise it was $50. I turned it in to the clerk and they set it aside. About 30 minutes later a woman came in almost in tears. She asked if anyone had turned in some money (she described that it was rolled up really tight — which this was — and gave the amount). She said it was her grocery money for the week. With tears in his eyes the clerk handed her the money and told me the story later. God’s hand was definitely in that.

    Like

    • Now that’s a beautiful story, too. Thanks for sharing it here.
      Some people will wonder why God doesn’t look after every sad story this way and return everybody’s lost money, but He does have a special heart for folks who do look to Him and ask Him for help, folks who trust and depend on Him to help them cope however things turn out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

