Time to Smell the Roses and Pull the Weeds

Time to Stop and Pull the Weeds?

In one of Jesus’ best-known parables, He tells of a man who went out to sow seed in his fields. He went about it the old-fashioned way, walking through the prepared fields and along the edges tossing the seed in all directions.

He had mixed results. This account is from Matthew Chapter 13:4-8:

“And when he sowed, some seeds fell by the way side, and the fowls came and devoured them up. Some fell upon stony places, where they had not much earth: and forthwith they sprung up, because they had no deepness of earth; and when the sun was up, they were scorched; and because they had no root, they withered away.
And some fell among thorns; and the thorns sprung up, and choked them. But other fell into good ground, and brought forth fruit, some an hundredfold, some sixtyfold, some thirtyfold.”

Some of the seed never got a chance to germinate because the birds snatched it away; some fell on rocks and couldn’t put their roots down. But some of the seed that fell on good, prepared soil never amounted to anything because thorns grew up and stole the moisture and nutrients the plants needed to thrive. Jesus later explained these weeds as “the care of this world and the deceitfulness of riches.”

I was thinking lately about those thorns. I don’t feel I’ve dealt with the deceitfulness of riches very much lately, but I’ve definitely been dealing with the care of this world. The care of finishing my first book, the various decisions involved, and getting the second (a children’s story) ready for the illustrator. I wanted to do that four weeks ago and it hasn’t happened yet. Awful when a writer doesn’t have time to publish her books!

This past month I have also been caught up in the rather delightful “cares” of fabrics, patterns, and getting dresses sewed for my granddaughters. I plan to do a bit more of this. Then there’s the care of health issues and medical appointments – several past and another coming up at the Cancer Clinic next week. I’m thankful it’s all routine so far; nothing has alarmed the medial folks.

Getting Too Blogged Down?

I wrote about following several writing groups on LinkedIn and learning a lot about publishing and marketing. One thing I’ve learned is that I should have a website. Well, I know diddly-squat about setting up a website – especially if it should list books for sale – so I’ll need to seek some professional help for that.

I’m told I should have a blog. No problem; I do have four. Herein lies a dilemma: my main blog should really go by the name on my books – and it doesn’t. To change or not to change, that is the question. Whether it be nobler in the mind to continue with all four blogs and a website…or cut down to two blogs and a website…or one blog and a website.

I’ve been tossing this back and forth in my mind for awhile now. Where does, “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” come in? Shall I do a major remodelling job or leave well enough alone? If you have any wise advice, please share it; I’d love to know what you think.

To add to the mix, my dear husband plans to update my WordPerfect programme shortly. I’m a slow learner. I know from past experience that changing ANYthing on my computer is accompanied by some degree of anguish until I’m used to the new programme. And there’s the fall cleaning this house needs. Tomorrow I want to start cleaning the windows.

All in all, I feel kind of overwhelmed by the thorns in my field right now. For the good of my mental and spiritual health I need to pause awhile and pull them up. Take the time to properly identify which are the productive plants and which are the weeds that should be yanked out. Go for long walks; smell the flowers before they freeze. Don’t we all need downtime now and then?

So if you don’t hear from me for a couple of weeks, you’ll know where I am. I do want to thank you all for following this blog, for caring what I have to say and for leaving your comments. I hope you, too, will be enjoying this autumn season.

5 thoughts on “Time to Smell the Roses and Pull the Weeds

  1. My son just finished helping an author to set up a website to sell her books via Paypal. He also included a word press blog inside the website…it is very neat, like 2 in 1. You may want to think about something like that. It is not complicated at all!

    Like

    • Yes, that’s about what I need. However, I’m not sure about the “it’s not complicated” part — for me. Nothing is complicated if you know what you’re doing. I’ll have to see what the hosting company will do for me.

      Like

  2. I don’t think I could ever get Blogged Down, not when there are such Beautiful Blogs out in the world who *SHARE* the LUV for the Lord! And that is why I’ve Nominated your Blog for *THE LIEBSTER AWARD*…I share this award with you because you *Inspire* Me and many who come to visit you! Thanks for that. *Congrats*…And if you’d like to share and pass on the LUV to blogs that inspire you, drop by mine at: http://CatherineLyonAddictedToDimes.wordpress.com for the Simple details if you on my Todays Post called *ANOTHER FAB BLOG AWARD*

    God Bless, Author Catherine Lyon 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks very much for this compliment. I’ve been rather occupied this past while as you would have read–feel like I’m keeping my heard above water and that’s it. But I haven’t forgotten about this. I haven’t done awards on this blog yet, but maybe I could put it on a separate page.

      Like

Leave a Reply

