NaNoWriMo & Puzzling Plots

HELLO Everyone!

We have another mild, rainless day in Saskatchewan – except that it’s raining yellow leaves. I’m working my way through a pile of laundry – Mount Washmore, FlyLady would call it ☺ – in preparation for this weekend and sewing my granddaughter’s dress for the wedding next weekend. (Auntie Carol, their Dad’s sister, is marrying and moving to Mississippi.)

My sewing room feels very spacious today; I vacuumed it this morning and cleaned up some, but the biggest item left yesterday. I gave away my 24-gallon aquarium, complete with fish and all the trimmings to the teenage daughter of a friend, so I’m out of the fish-keeping hobby for the time being – or maybe forever.

Maybe I’ll take it up again in some form when I get to Heaven – together with a huge flower garden. Actually I have quite a few hobbies and interests I’m putting off until I have all eternity to pursue them. Let’s face it, when you have the time limitation of 24 hours a day and seven days a week, you finally have to decide on priorities and make some serious choices.

Different people have been writing lately about “pruning unnecessary things out of your life” and I have been listening. The Write Practice has some good advice in this morning’s post about making more space for the important stuff, like writing that novel. (See http://thewritepractice.com/more-space/? )

Another thing I did yesterday was sign up for NaNoWriMo. Like other writers on our planet, I’m going to commit myself to writing 50,000 words in the month of November and hopefully produce the mystery story my grandson would like me to write for him. (If you’re not familiar with the NaNoWriMo challenge, check out their site: nanowrimo.org for more information or to sign up.)

I’ve been doing some plotting, but have another novel idea up my sleeve if this one just doesn’t pan out. At first I thought it would be easy enough to follow the pattern of another mystery, just leave clues here and there for your detective(s) to discover. I brought home six mysteries from the library and read them all – now I see another complexity. How much can I allow my “hero” to bend the rules? The hardest part of writing a mystery story may well be creating characters that don’t lie and steal just like the crooks.

Have you ever taken note of how much crime the “good guys” commit in mysteries? They breaks into places, steal evidence, lie when answering questions, make up stories to cover what they’re doing. They evade questions and may outright lie to parents about where they were and what they were doing so the parents won’t worry and/or forbid their activity. Because how can you sneak around and solve a mystery if everyone knows that’s what you’re doing? I’ve always understood that crooks do wrong, but I’ve been a bit shocked at how dishonest the “hero” can be these days.

So I may not get my mystery story written after all, but I can have a discussion with my grandchildren about this. Like, “How crooked do you want your main character to be?” Can we “follow” heroes who are dishonest and it won’t effect our mind-set or behaviour at all? My impulsive promise is turning into an interesting exercise!

Several of my followers have bestowed blogging awards on me lately. Many thanks to those of you who have nominated me! I hope to post these soon, but I’d like you to know that I appreciate you thinking my blog is worthy of an award.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo & Puzzling Plots

  1. I’m sorry you had to give up your fish tank but I understand. I have been working with you on the Vance-Turner family blog about our family history and that has taken a lot of time for both of us. Like pruning, I have been going through old papers and sorting out family-related ones. I have discarded a lot of old stuff, but like the grape, some of the old photos and stories that I’ve come across, seem to have a new life, and they are bursting forth as material for our blog. Culling the bad stuff creates room for the new shoots to grow.

    Like

    • One thing that factored into my giving up fish-keeping: I had my tank at the back end of our trailer, running with filters & heater — sometimes two heaters when the weather got quite cold because that room is cool.
      Our farmer neighbour always had a generator because he had livestock — and we get our power from him. So when the power went off — and we’ve had 4-8 hour spells without at times — his generator would run his necessary stuff and ours, too. Like the aquarium filter & heater.
      But now he’s going out of livestock and his generator wasn’t working so he’s decided to do without one. We have a wood stove in the living room so we won’t freeze, but it’s impossible to keep fish healthy in an icy room with no heater or filter. Running an aquarium is a delicate operation; I don’t need the extra worry anymore.

      Like

Leave a Reply

