A Long Walk One Dark Night

I’d like to give a warm welcome to all my new Followers on this chilly day. (Thankfully it’s warmer than yesterday when the temp dropped to -29C or -16 F.)

I’m glad you are finding my blog interesting and hope to keep it so. For the past three weeks I’ve been working away at my Nano novel and hope to be done very soon. Hurray! I’m ready to come back to civilization again. (I see some brave folks doing novels this month have whacked out 100,000 words already. I don’t know how they do it!)

This is a mystery story I’m writing for my grandson and it’s been a really good exercise for me. Because I needed a 50,000 word count I’ve had to think up more and more explorations, clues, and disasters than I ever had in mind when I started. And I didn’t just want to write filler I’d have to delete later, so I’ve tried to make them all a logical part of my story. This took stirring up and stretching this old gray matter, but it’s all coming together!

Going through my files this morning I came across the following story (rewritten from an old Friendship Book account.) I may have posted it once already on one of my blogs, but I hope you new readers will enjoy it.

A Long Walk and A Lesson Learned

Back in 1928 a family had taken a holiday on the Hebrides island of Lewis, in the north of Scotland.  Doctor Macleod’s roots were in this little isle and he  had brought his family back to the village where he’d been born. They’d had a jolly good time visiting around amongst various of his friends and met all the relatives.

All good things come to an end and so did this trip, so they piled into the car one day and headed for home. The day went by and evening came on.

As they were motoring along the children in the back seat got into a discussion that became rather heated.  Son Iain, who felt himself in danger of losing the argument, started to get pretty huffy about his siblings’ pig-headed resistance.  After all, he was right!  “If no one is going to agree with me, “ he declared, “I’ll get out right now and walk home.”

His threat was designed to make the others give in; of course he had no intention of carrying them out.  But his father had been listening all along and decided the boy needed a lesson, so he stopped the car, got out and silently opened the boy’s door.

Though not a word was said, the message was loud and clear. Iain had no choice but to get out — thirteen miles from home.

It was a long, long walk and well after midnight when he finally arrived at his home, exhausted and thoroughly chilled.  He found the door unlocked for him, but everyone was in bed and all the lights were out.  Quietly he crept into his own bed, scolding himself for his foolish words and attitude.

His parents never mentioned the incident again, but Iain had plenty of time to repent on his long walk and decided that from now on he’d be stubborn only in issues of serious right and wrong, he’d give more consideration to the other fellow’s point of view and recognize that he could be wrong.  This lesson stood him in good stead when in later years he became a politician.

Leave a Reply

