Nick Gets His Dream Vacation

I posted this story on my main blog because my browser stubbornly refused to access this site. However, being fiction, it rightly belongs here. My apologies to those of you who are getting it twice.

Christine's Reflections

They were just finishing lunch when Ethan asked, “Dad, could you take me to baseball practice this afternoon?”

Nick winced. “Sorry, Ethan, not today. I…have other plans.”

His wife Chastie glared at him and plunked her mug on the table. The last of her coffee shot up like a mini-geyser and sloshed onto the table. “So what will you be doing this afternoon that’s more important than your son.”

Nick focused on his own coffee cup. “This is perfect weather for fishing. I’ll spend a few hours on the dock and bring home a nice string of fish to fry for supper.”

Her eyes flashed with anger. “You’d fish your life away if you could.”

“Don’t be like that, Chas. I haven’t had a day to myself for a long time.”

She seemed ready to argue the point, but she sighed and said nothing. His conscience put in a few…

View original post 1,489 more words

Leave a Reply

